Posted in Built, Papa, Reviews, Star Wars

Bandai : 1/144 Star Wars Millenium Falcon TFA

I simply love the Bandai model kits. They are Super detailed, easy to assemble, and have usually a few options for you to make exactly the end product you have in mind.

I started the Millenium Falcon kit yesterday, and finished it this afternoon. As usual, I was amazed at the level of details they put into it. Every pipe, scratch, bolt and nut is visible.


Instructions are easy to follow (even though in Japanese) because everything is very visual, and with a bit of common sense, you easily find which piece goes where.


This kit shows the Millenium Falcon as she is on Jakku, in The Force Awakens, and comes with a few characters for you to personalise your final product: Chewie, Han Solo, Finn, Rey and B-B8. I chose to go with Chewie and Han, the rightful owners of this magnificent ship.


I am not sure if it is possible to see them very well, but I painted them BEFORE putting them in the cockpit, because it would have been impossible once everything is closed…


Following the instructions, You see your creation taking shape in your hands slowly…


I think it is the first time I use all the stickers provided, simply because 1/I usually find they are Super difficult to put (the decals even worse than the stickers) and 2/they often represent little details that nobody would see…

This time, however, I tried to put as many as I could because they added some of the Color changes in the surface of the ship, as to show that the ship add been repaired from so many spare parts along the years.

When everything was done, it was time to paint/weather.


My Favourite Colours for this are black and burnt sienna. They can pass as grease, dust, soil, rust… so versatile and natural. Using acrylic, I started filling the little gaps, nooks and crannies, wiping as much as I could right after that. The thick paint (I barely used any water to dilute it) stays in the cracks of the design, and they stain the surfaces just enough to give the rough aspect I was going after.

As you do this, all the parts and pipes and details really come to life and start telling you a story…. 


The paint sticks very well on the plastic and the stickers. I wanted to give the feeling that She spent a very long time in the desert, with the burn marks under the reactors that brought her there, rusty and oozing her engine oil all over… as some would say: “a piece of garbage”!


And there we go, the Millenium Falcon in all her splendor!

As a conclusion, this is a very good set. I was a bit sceptical because the scale of 1/144 would have removed a lot of details, but not at all. Everything fits perfectly, and you’ll have a good time assembling it.

Author:

Originally from the North of France, I have great fun doing illustrations and drawing Nutons... happy Husband and Father of 3 teenage boys, we make things, props, and live a geek life in Singapore.

One thought on “Bandai : 1/144 Star Wars Millenium Falcon TFA

Leave a Reply

