Posted in Built, Papa

DIY: glue pot

I’ve started to play a bit with making foam armor (a complete video about this soon), but my first experience was a bit messy!

The contact cement (THE glue of choice for craft foam) I bought was in tubes. So I poured a bit on a paper plate and started gluing. By the time I had finished one edge, the cement in the plate had completely dried up and was impossible to use. Even with all the care in the world, this called for a lot of waste.

I therefore decided to make my own glue pot!


Material:

  • A screw-Top jar (I used a small vitamin container, but I Guess this would work with  a mason jar, or any other container)
  • An old brush
  • A glue gun
  • Optional: a can of spray paint, Color of your choice!


Start by piercing the lid in the center.


Place the brush. Make sure the bristles almost reach the bottom, but that they don’t touch it.


With the glue gun, secure the brush in place, inside and outside.


You can paint the glue pot in any Color you want! I chose black so it would look like an accessories from an old workshop.


Your contact cement is now safe!

Author:

Originally from the North of France, I have great fun doing illustrations and drawing Nutons... happy Husband and Father of 3 teenage boys, we make things, props, and live a geek life in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

